Did he really decide to do that?

Happy New Year everyone. So 2014 went out discreetly attempting to make too much disruption. I saw in the new year with old friends and the fantastic Funkle Pie. A band very much worth going to see. I recommend checking them out when you can. You can find them on Facebook along with upcoming gigs.

I thought I would take a break from blogging over the festive period. It’s always nice to take a break and relax when you can. I spent most of it when not out and about, playing Football Manager 14. Become quite addicted to it. Don’t think I’ve played the game so much since I had the Championship Manager 93 back in the early days when I had an Amiga 1200. Now that’s going back a while, back to the age of Sensible Soccer, Cannon Fodder, Lemmings , Populous, Operation Stealth.

Anyway, back to the main focus. As I lie in bed attempting to get to sleep and failing miserably, out of the blue an idea pinged in my mind. I’ll give up eating chocolate, not permanently mind you, god no, that would be a painfully horrible idea. I couldn’t give up chocolate permanent. That would never do. Then though as if that wasn’t enough, I decided to stop drinking coke. Double strike on a Monday, nothing like diving in at the deep end at the start of the year.

Thing is that I gave up chocolate for the period of lent a couple of years ago and said to myself that I would never do that again, so why am I doing it again. The chocolate lover is casting his favourite thing to one side for a period of time…I haven’t quite got to that bit yet. It will definitely be longer than a month, I wonder if I can do it until Easter. I mean come on, do you really think its possible to go without chocolate through the Easter period? nope I’m not that stupid….that’s one best not left open.

Of course I tend not to do things by halves, so not only giving up chocolate for a period of time, I decide I’m going to stop drinking coke, I haven’t decided how long for, but that one will be easier. I gave it up last year for a while, so I can easily do it again. Typically though, the day I decide to give up chocolate, one of my lovely colleagues brings in some chocolate that they have been told to get rid of. Sadly I will not be able to partake in this usual delight of cleaning up on the sweet side of things. I did think about cakes too, but there are likely to be birthdays and cakes brought in. There is of course only so much a man can give up before he starts to wonder about his own sanity….and Ive been wondering about that for quite a while.  One other thing I wont be giving up just yet is alcohol. I know it’s that time of year and I commend all those who are doing it for the January. I know a few of my friends are doing and one who is not just doing it for one month, but two. To be honest, it wouldn’t be worth my trying to do it as to be honest I can take or leave drinking alcohol. It’s nice to have a beer or glass of wine, but I could go a while without drinking. In fact I had one of those small one glass bottles of Jacob’s Creek and you know what? I wasn’t really fussed and although I finished it, I’m glad it wasn’t a whole bottle I had bought as I could have left it.Maybe it was because it was Jacob’s Creek? who knows but I certainly wasn’t fussed about it that’s for sure.

Something I did do though today and that was buy a bag of bananas and apples. Had bought bananas the other week, but havent had an apple for ages. Who knows, at this rate I might get a new pair of trainers and take up running…maybe one step at a time (no pun intended).

Anyway, that’s that for now and I shall be back soon with more musings. Till then, feel free to check out some blogs that my good friends write.

Leave a Reply

