The Cadbury’s Creme Egg saga

So the Cadbury’s Creme Egg is facing crisis. First of all it doesn’t taste as nice. This is because they have changed from the dairy milk chocolate to a cocoa mix. Ive not had one of the 2015 batch due to my self-imposed chocolate ban, but all I can say is that even as someone who loves chocolate, is it really something to get wound up about. I will eat most chocolate and enjoy it. One comment was that Dairy Milk chocolate bars don’t taste the same anymore. To be honest I have to disagree. They taste just as how they always have. Maybe that is my mind just seeing the Dairy Milk bar and giving me the taste I expect. I can’t say that I have ever noticed anything major. I’m not sure that if I had noticed that I would have continued eating them over the past year or so. If I however I had noticed it, I very much doubt that I would have gone to the extent of making a fuss about it. What I would have done is to just stop buying it and choose something different. At the end of the day how chocolate tastes, is hardly the end of the world when it come to life and the grand scheme of things.

The reality of the whole change in chocolate type etc is that if it really bothers you that much, then use the greatest power of them all. The Consumer power is the greatest power of them all. If you don’t like it, don’t buy it and go for something else instead. It is quite easier and more powerful than just complaining. If a product suffers then it is likely to disappear or something change. Complaining and spouting off, is not going to really see much progression or change.

Now to the other part of the discussion. Cadbury’s deciding to reduce from 6 eggs in the pack down to 5. I’ve rarely bought a box of six, but this is something I just don’t get. I could understand if they reduced from 6 to 4 as it would make more sense. Most packs of chocolate bars tend to come in even numbers, so to reduce it to an odd number is quite silly, especially for packaging measures. It would surely require a redesign in the packaging to accommodate.

I guess the reality though is that if you don’t like the new eggs, don’t buy them and if you don’t like the reduction to 5 eggs, go and find a shop with good offers for multibuy Creme Eggs.

Leave a Reply

